The class celebrated completion of the program with a Graduation Ceremony at the Faculty Club at U of T. The past few months leading up to grad was very busy. They finished their 2nd clinical internship and final residency week was filled with workplace activities including resume writing, mock interviews and meeting potential employers. Graduation is a special occasion where they could celebrate their accomplishments with their family and friends.


Invited speakers included Dr. Shafiq Qaadri, Parliamentary Assistant (PA) to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration, Dr. Allan Kaplan, Vice Dean, Graduate and Academic Affairs, Faculty of Medicine, Dr. Darlene Reid, Chair, Dept of Physical Therapy and Mohamed Abdelkader, OIEPB Alumni Co-President. Each of the honoured guests shared inspirational stories, words of wisdom and offered congratulations to the graduates.



Class Presidents Fabio Carnevale and Pavlos Bobos each gave heartfelt speeches during the grad proceedings. As well, many learners shared their emotional journeys and how the program impacted their lives. Speeches ended with the viewing of their “Gratitude” video.


Each year the top learners for Academic and Clinical Excellence are recognized. Awards were presented by Sharon Switzer McIntyre, Director, Alison Bonnyman, Academic Curriculum Coordinator and Martine Quesnel, Clinical Education Coordinator & Mentorship Program.


The 2018 Academic Excellence Award was presented to 2 learners that tied with top marks. Congratulations to Einat Mei-Dan and Iman Babaie Lawasani. Well done!



The 2018 Clinical Excellence Award was presented to Harikrishnan Gopalakrishnan Nair. Bravo Hari!



The day concluded with closing remarks by Dr. Darlene Reid, Chair, PT Dept followed by everyone enjoying the rest of the day with their classmates, faculty, family and friends.


Congratulations to Class of 2018!