Graduation Day for the Class of 2021 6-month cohort


January 18th, 2022 marked a day of celebration with the virtual graduation and recognition awards ceremony in honour of the graduating Class of 2021 6-month cohort. This class showed great resiliency, flexibility and strength as they weathered Covid-19-related restrictions to reach this day. Excitement was in the air as everyone came together to celebrate this momentous occasion.


Dr. Sharon Switzer-McIntyre, OIEPB Director kicked off the event with a warm welcome to graduates, faculty, staff, family, friends and guests. We were honoured to have guest speakers, Dr. Lynn Wilson, Vice Dean, Clinical and Faculty Affairs and Associate Vice Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions, Temerty Faculty of Medicine, Dr. Susan Jaglal, Chair, Department of Physical Therapy, Temerty Faculty of Medicine and M. Ismail Abdelkader, Co-President, OIEPB Alumni Association address the graduates and offer congratulations on their achievements.



Following the graduate certificate presentation, the recipients of the Academic and Clinical Excellence Awards were announced.


The Academic Excellence Award was presented by Alison Bonnyman, OIEPB Academic Coordinator. This award recognizes the learner who achieved top marks in the class. Alison was excited to announce two recipients this year, Margie Rajeshree and Titilayo Ukagwu. Well done and congratulations Margie and Titilayo!



The Clinical Excellence Award was presented by Martine Quesnel, Academic Coordinator of Clinical Education and Mentorship. This award recognizes the learner who showed outstanding and exceptional achievements during their two clinical internships. Martine was proud to announce Margie Rajeshree as this year’s award recipient. Bravo and congratulations Margie!



Gayathri Rajamoorthy, Class President delivered a heartfelt speech of gratitude on behalf of her classmates. She gave a lovely tribute to her gurus, her faculty and classmates and shared this notable quote, “It doesn’t matter who you are, where you come from. The ability to triumph begins with you – always.”  Oprah Winfrey.



In closing, Gayathri thanked all who contributed to their digital yearbook with special thanks to creators, Margie Rajeshree, Titilayo Ukagwu and Emanuela Gembarowski. This digital yearbook chronicles their aspirations and journey from leaving their homeland, starting anew in Canada and successfully completing the bridging program. Hopes and dreams do come true!


Click here to watch the digital yearbook video.



We extend our very best wishes to the class for continued success on their journey to physiotherapy practice in Canada!




The OIEPB Team